く SofBC Canadian Citizenship Preparation Lessons

CLB 4 – October Question

Name:

Date:



CLB 4 – Confederation

From 1864 to 1867, representatives of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the Province of Canada worked together to establish a new country. These men are known as the Fathers of Confederation. The old Province of Canada was split into two new provinces: Ontario and Quebec, which, together with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, formed the new country called the Dominion of Canada.

British Columbia joined Canada in 1871 after Ottawa promised to build a railway to the West Coast. On November 7, 1885, a powerful symbol of unity was completed when Donald Smith (Lord Strathcona), the director of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR), drove the last spike. The project was financed by British and American investors and built by both European and Chinese labour. After many years of heroic work, the CPR's "ribbons of steel" fulfilled a national dream.

Expansion of the Dominion:

- 1867 Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick
- 1870 Manitoba, Northwest Territories (N.W.T.)
- 1871 British Columbia
- 1873 Prince Edward Island
- 1880 Transfer of the Arctic Islands (to N.W.T.)
- 1898 Yukon Territory
- 1905 Alberta, Saskatchewan
- 1949 Newfoundland and Labrador
- 1999 Nunavut

Review Question:

When Canada became a country in
1867, it had only four provinces.
Which of these was NOT one of the
four provinces?

- New Brunswick
- 🔵 Ontario
- BC
- 🔵 Quebec