

Canadian Citizenship Preparation Lessons

CLB 3 – June Question

Name:

Date:

Parliament

Parliament has three parts: the **Sovereign** (Queen or King), the **Senate** and the **House** of **Commons**.

Queen Elizabeth is the **Queen of Canada**. She lives and works in London, UK.

The Senate has 105 members. They are called **senators**. The Prime Minister chooses them and they can stay until they are 75 years old.



House of Commons

The House of Commons has 338 members from different parts of the country. They are called **MPs** (Members of Parliament). Each member is elected to the government in an election. They can stay until there is another election (usually about 4 years). The prime minister is the MP who is the leader of the political party with the most members.

(image source: https://flic.kr/p/5CrhHG)

Circle a or b

Canada's Members of Parliament (MPs) work in:

- a) The House of Commons
- b) The House of Government