SofBC Canadian Citizenship Preparation Lessons

CLB 4 – June Question

Name:

Date:



CLB 4: Levels of Government in Canada

There are three levels of government in Canada - federal, provincial (or territorial) and municipal (local).

Each level of government has different responsibilities. For example, the federal government is responsible for national defense, citizenship, criminal justice, etc. The provincial or territorial government is responsible for education, health care, highways, etc. Municipal governments are normally responsible for streets and roads, garbage removal, firefighting, etc.

Review Question:

What are the three levels of government in Canada?

The Prime Minister, the Premier and the Mayor

Parliament, the Legislature and City Hall

Federal, provincial and municipal

The Prime Minister, the House of Commons and the Senate